Tritops and Trilogies’ Top 5

tri 4a

Tritops and Trilogies hasn’t shared with you her Top 5 Books of 2015, so we thought we’d do that today!

In no particular order, here they are…

 

1.

tone
The One by Kiera Cass

OK, so I have a LOT of favorites but this series is by far one of my favorite love stories! Though I’m not a fan of love triangles (I mean isn’t love complicated enough with just 2 people?!) this love triangle is my favorite. It’s the last in a trilogy and does a near perfect job of wrapping up both old and new love stories and friendships! I’ll admit, I was worried it would have an easy cheesy wrap up story like the new(er) Fantastic 4 move (seriously that movie’s main battle was resolved in like 5 minutes), but it plays out nicely and dramatically to the end. It will NOT disappoint the fans! Plus the author Kiera Cass is pretty hilarious…
Mary took hold of the zipper. “Suck it in, miss.” I obeyed, and as the dress cinched me in again, I thought of a soldier going to war. Different armor but the same idea. Tonight I was taking down a man.
P.S. It’s a cute love story with some giddy kissing moments! I would recommend it to my younger teen siblings!

2.

tcinder
Cinder by Marissa Meyer

So I read the first chapter and was hooked!!! It was the book I stayed up until 4 in the morning reading. I didn’t even mind drudging through work the next day because it was THAT good! Marissa Meyer does a fantastic job of creating cyborg Cinder, a capable and confident young woman, withOUT making her seem pathetic and helpless. Her best friend is an android (yes, I thought of R2D2 the whole time), only ONE of her stepsisters is evil, and you will truly learn to hate her stepmother. This is the story of how she becomes one of the main pawns in an intergalactic war while flirting it up with the prince-next-door! Be prepared to binge-read!

3.

thunted
The Hunted by Charlie Higson

ZOMBIES!!! Grown-ups, sickos, the enemy…. The kids all call them something different. No one over the age of 16 survived the sickness. This is the 6th book in a zombie series that takes the lives from many kids across London and it wraps their stories into one. I’m still not sure if the kids or the zombies will conquer! I’m still rooting for the kids but at this point I think Higson may wipe them all out! Warning… many main characters die in this series so don’t get too attached as zombies will rip off their heads. The descriptions aren’t too much about slicing the zombies to pieces, but rather how the sickness affects the bodies of the zombies (belching, oozing pus, and popping pustules). As Michael Grant said, “The Enemy grabs you by the throat… and bites off your ear!” Everyone in my family reads these books!
P.S. Higson lets us know in this series that British people do talk with American accents for fun! I always wondered if they did that!

4.

tgirl
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

If you’re a sucker for a kick-butt action story mixed with some cheesy love then this is your kind of book! The main character, Elisa, is a princess who gets secretly married (to the most handsome man she has ever seen) to forge an alliance between their countries. He instantly sees her as a friend… anyone else relate?! The thing is… he’s kind of the typical get-any-girl-I-want-with-this-smile kind of guy. Blech. Luckily… She gets kidnapped! She is a girl with a Godstone in her navel that was chosen by God to save or destroy the nation but she’s only 16! She doesn’t know if she is strong enough. I love it. Carson shows Elisa growing up and anyone who has ever grown up can relate to her! I won’t ruin the story but just so you know… it’s a trilogy… aka my FAVORITE!
Things about the book: Yes, it’s a book about a girl chosen by God but it’s not preachy so the author isn’t trying to convert us. Yes, there are those… “IS HE GOING TO KISS THE GIRL?!” moments… they don’t disappoint either! AND… She starts out being overweight in the beginning and this guy only sees her as a friend. But then she’s kidnapped, eats only healthy food, and exercises. BAM. Looks like a whole new person! Then she sees him again… and his reaction? Priceless.

5.

tanna
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

So Anna is living the dream when she moves to Paris to go to school! Her dad is basically like Nicholas Sparks. She hates living in a new place at first but then she sees a guy. Oooohhhh! He has a British accent and he’s basically perfect. Except he has a longtime long-distance girlfriend. But she feels the sparks fly! Is it only one-way? It’s basically a figuring-out-what-we-want and then how-to-get-it kind of story. It’s a book I grabbed when feeling sappy and wanting a cheesy-love-story-goodness fix. It hit the spot! Just to let you know the characters are trying to figure out what they want so sometimes they go back and forth, but don’t we all? I balance on the line until I figure out what side I want to be on. That’s part of the charm in this book for me!
Note: There is underage drinking in the book because it’s Paris. Some language. And some non-sexual co-ed sleeping.  I would still recommend it to my teenage brother if he liked cheesy teen-romance novels (but he prefers Batman).

What were some of your favorite books of 2015?  Let me know in the comments down below!!!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Tritops and Trilogies’ Top 5

  1. So I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED The Selection series! Anna and the French Kiss was amazingly written, but I gotta tell ya…St. Claire is not my favorite. I honestly would have been okay if they didn’t end up together in the end…

    Like

Leave a Reply

