Dream Thieves

Dream Thieves

by Maggie Stiefvater

149030-ml-1070783

 

Age: Young Adult

Potential Content Issues: language/drugs/blink-and-you-miss-it underage drinking/what the older generation would call “coarse language” and the rest of us call dudes make vulgar jokes

Series: Book 2

“She wore a dress Ronan thought looked like a lampshade. Whatever sort of lamp it belonged on, Gansey clearly wished he had one.
Ronan wasn’t a fan of lamps.”

para 8

Review by SuddenButInevitable

 

The further adventures of a group of teens from small town Virginia.  Spoilers for book 1 throughout.

*

*

*

*

*

9254922437_a6999c2c2c

Roll Call! Gansey! The boy obsessed with finding a dead Welsh King, waking him and getting a wish granted.  (No, I don’t remember why…. maybe that was in the first book?  And I read the first book like 2 years ago… This is becoming a theme for me…it’s because I start new series…)  Noah! The dead boy who frequently disappears when the plot can’t use him anymore and was apparently killed in the last book.  Ronan! The dangerous/creepy one who can apparently take things out of dreams.  And Blue! or Jane! (because there aren’t enough names to keep up with)  The girl non psychic in a house full of psychics but can amplify others’ ability.  Her special talent? She’ll kill her one true love by kissing him.

Bummer.

While the whole group features prominently in the book, our main protagonist of this part in the series is Ronan and his unnatural ability to steal things from his dreams.  Which, let’s all just stop a moment and marvel at how utterly cool and potentially terrifying that would be.  Along the way, we find more backstory on how Gansey and Adam became friends, Ronan’s home, and since it’s summer, the 4th of July celebrations of spoiled rich kids in the middle of nowhere.

If Ronan is the protag, Mr. Gray would be our antagonist (there’s also another, but I’ll leave you to find out! I’m totally getting better at this review game, look at me editing!) and Mr. Gray gets to be mentioned because throughout his book, he refers to his rental car as the Champagne Monstrosity (and several other derogatory names) because he feels that Champagne is a horrible color for a car and I totally agree with him.  This lead me to start noticing how often colors are used.  I mean heck, Blue is a character name.  This may come up again in the next books, We’ll keep a watch out.  I’m super not good at picking out foreshadowing as it’s happening.

 

So, I liked this more than the first book, but as I mentioned, it’s been a while since I read The Raven Boys.  I’m always up for a book with cute boys.  I think my liking of this book came from being more familiar with the characters and also understanding what kind of story I was getting myself into.  You’ll see lots of people that say this is a page turner. For me?  Not so much.  It’s a slow book for me.  Chapters are short.  But that doesn’t make it any less of a good book.  Just be ready for it.  The book suffers because it’s part of a larger tale.  It’s like one huge arc but Stiefvater was told to separate it because the YA reader gets intimidated if the book is over a certain page count. So, we get few answers and a whole lot more questions which is totally normal for a book that’s part of the series.

 

5 thoughts on “Dream Thieves

  1. I haven’t started this series yet, but I keep hearing about it.
    Is it weird that I primarily follow Maggie Steifvater because of her amazing artwork? Seriously, if you haven’t looked it up yet, you need to!!!

    Like

  2. Just finished the 1st book in the cycle, so review for that shortly here. No, I’m not following her art but I totally should. I need to write this review before I start another book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Raven Boys
  4. Pingback: The Raven King

Leave a Reply

