Top 5 Wednesday: Couples

Romance…not really my thing….

stego 3

by Stegosaurus Wilde

 

 

 

barnacles.jpg

Okay, so I’m about as romantic as a barnacle. I may be going on the same journey as the Love Boat, but my focus is elsewhere. As a result, I don’t usually pay much attention to romance in books. My friends talk about how amazing and life-changing and earth-shattering a couple is, and I’m over here like, “Yeah, that’s cool. But how about the magic? Wasn’t it just super amazing?!” With that being said, here are my five favorite couples. They’re pretty cool, I guess.

 

  1. Percy and Annabeth, from like 20 different Rick Riordan books…

The_House_of_Hades  In the Percy Jackson books, Percy is a son of Poseidon and Annabeth is a daughter of Athena. They’re each other’s normal when the world around them is epic, crazy, dangerous, and constantly trying to kill them. They’re also a great example of two very different people falling in love and making it work. I admire that.

 

 

 

  1. Lyra and Will, His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

The-Subtle-Knife.jpg Lyra is a half feral child who grows up on a college campus in another world. Tended to by professors and an odd house maid here and there, she is fierce, loyal, and more than a little impulsive. Will comes from our world and is equal to Lyra’s fierceness. He has seen way too much in his young life, and he is haunted, but brave and resourceful. When these two find each other, they are fast friends. Their adventures lead them toward a bond of more than mere friendship, and their young love is full of the kind of innocence that doesn’t seem present for children in our society anymore.

 

  1. Ella and Prince Charmont, Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

ellaElla is cursed at birth with obedience. She must do whatever anyone tells her to do if it is a direct order. Unfortunately, her curse poses a definite danger to her romantic interest, Prince Charmont.

 

***spoiler alert***

 

In the end, Ella’s love for the prince overwhelms her curse and breaks it. And really, how can you top that? Can you imagine the conversation?

“Do you love me?”
“I do.”
“How can I be sure?”
“I broke my curse for you, you big idiot! Of course I love you!”

Well, maybe it wouldn’t go exactly like that, but still… epic love breaking a lifelong curse? It sounds pretty earth-shattering to me.

2. Ron and Hermione, Harry Potter

ronI don’t like the bad rap they’ve been getting lately. Ron and Hermione are Harry Potter’s best friends. In the movies, Ron ends up as kind of a buffoon, but in the books he’s a much more solid character. He and Hermione are very different, it’s true, but they also balance each other out and make each other better people, and I call that a win.

 

  1. Meg and Calvin, Wrinkle in Time series by Madeline L’Engle

meg They’re my favorites. I can’t say exactly why. Both misunderstood, both brilliant in their own ways, their meeting seems ordained by fate. Or at least by three benevolent aliens. I love Calvin’s gung ho nature. He just met these people, but sure he’ll go on an adventure across the universe to save their dad from a giant malevolent brain on an evil planet. And Meg? Bless her. I love her stubbornness and her inability to see her own brilliant qualities shining through. I have always identified with her. And the two of them together? Well, they’re just perfect. I don’t know any other way to describe them. Simply perfect.

 

So there they are.  My top 5.  What are yours?  Share down in the comments below!

And don’t forget to check out both Bronto Incognito and SuddenButInevitable‘s Top 5’s as well!

Leave a Reply

