Infernal Reread

The Infernal Devices Book 1: Clockwork Angel

by Cassandra Clare

angel
Age: Young Adult

 

Series: Book 1 of 3

 

Contains: mild cursing, demon killing, angel references, demon-related violence (like killing them), magic
Quote: Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book.  It’s easier to know what they would do.
Similar to: The Mortal Instruments (of course)

 

para 8a
Review by SuddenButInevitable

Hey look!  Another book 1!  Aaaaand, another book that I’ve reread.  Are you watching Shadowhunters on Freeform (previously ABC Family?) because I am.  It’s a trainwreck mostly, but it does make me want to reread the books.  Strangely, it doesn’t make me want to reread The Mortal Instruments books. Since the beginning, it’s made me want the Infernal Devices books.  Maybe it’s just that I’ve read TMI series again recently.  Or maybe it’s because I like TID better.  *evil grin*  And now I have a chance to share it with all y’all.  (That’s Texan for a group of people)

I’m on the 3rd book in the series now, which is an audiobook, and I highly recommend due to the British actor.  But I’m not here to talk about audiobooks or how I’m completely undone by the dulcet tones Daniel Sharman and the Welsh accent he gives William Herondale.

This book takes place in Victorian London.  And if you don’t love the Victorian era, you are wrong.  There.  I said it .  It was a time of great change in England.  The industrial revolution was winding down, Queen Victoria was on the throne.  Lots of good stuff.
victoria
We are not amused….

Anyhow!  Quick review of the book. Tessa, an American, is following her brother to England, only to find that he’s not there to greet her. She’s instead met by two old ladies who basically torture her for months on end because she has this previously unknown ability to shapeshift into other people.  Eventually, she is rescued by Shadowhunters – Nephilim or in case you aren’t familiar with the term, half angel/half human fighters.  Tessa is thrown in the middle of this unfamiliar world and on top of it all, finds out her brother is working for the wrong side. See? Short.  Now, let’s talk about characers!

willIf you read this book and William Herondale reminds you of Jace Wayland/Morgenstern/Lightwood/Herondale, you wouldn’t be wrong.  William has that same behavior that we all favor in Jace.  Snark.  I know it’s not only me.  Some of you are liars.  You are lying to yourself.  William does snark better that Jace.  I chalk it up to Clare being more familiar with writing this kind of character and having grown as a writer since writing City of Bones.

tssLet’s just say that Tessa is all of us.  She’s a fangirl.  A Victorian fangirl, so she has the restraint of a Victorian woman, but a fangirl none the less.  She likens her life to books as much as possible.  She reads books over and over again.  She memorizes passages.  That’s Tessa in the opening quote.  You can’t tell me I’m the only person that has ever looked at a situation and said “Look, if a fictional character can face down his arch nemesis with only one hand, I can go to school today and take that test.”  Now, she’s reading Classical literature.  Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, A Tale of Two Cities, but still, those were the YA novels of the times.  I haven’t even read one of the books she’s talked about I’m shamed to admit.

jemJem!  The voice of reason to Will’s slightly bipolar personality.  He’s made to  be the opposite of Will, and yet, because of there Parabatai (kind of a blood brother sort of thing) it’s almost as if they are the halves of the same coin.  He’s a calm presence in the book.  He’s a musician and for some reason he is seen as having a disability/weakness.  Everyone makes mention at some point of the fact that Jem is on medication.  And it’s so hard to talk about Jem and not talk about this illness, but it isn’t explained until later books and so it is REALLY DIFFICULT to talk about Jem right now (I’m already listening to the 3rd book in the series), but if he were here I would pet him and stick him in my pocket he is so adorable and I love him!

As far as the storyline goes.  It’s a very interesting fast read and I found it a page turner.  Just the right amount of fantastical elements and really different, engaging characters and mystery surrounding everything.  If you’ve read any of the TMI books, you’ll recognize surnames and Magnus of course plays a large part in the book.  Camille shows up as well. (No Raphael though… as he hasn’t been born yet.)  It’s the first book in a 3 book series and it does very well as a stand alone book.  Tessa is strong-willed without being overly bratty about it (something I have a big problem with in Clary…. and TV!Clary especially) Tessa is inquisitive which helps us out and the author because people explain to Tessa what’s going on and so Clare doesn’t have to bog down the story with weirdo explanations.  It still has the feel of the TMI books but I think it’s a stronger first book than City of Bones.  But you don’t have to take my word for it!  Let me know what you think in the comments!

– SuddenButInevitable

Also, check out my review for book 2!

prince

4 thoughts on “Infernal Reread

  1. So I totally have been meaning to reread the first two books in this series so I can finally get around to reading “Clockwork Princess”. The problem is I really don’t remember much of the plot except that Will was like a redo of Jace with better written sarcasm (like you said) and there was much steampunking to be had. But that’s not really enough to read book 3 on. Need to reread the first ones again….

    Like

    1. It’s only a 3 book series. It should totally be on your list. The books are quick reads. I’ve gone through Clockwork Angel twice now on audio. (so, three time total…) It’s such tight storytelling. And that’s ‘tight’ not as in the children like to use these days. It’s ‘tight’ like the author type of ‘tight’. A very good ball of wibbley wobbley story goodness. Fantastic pictures, thanks for adding them. And I see what you did there with Queen Victoria. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, but you loaned me the first 2 years ago, and by the time Clockwork Princess came out I’d forgotten most of it. Now I have all 3, but I have to decide: do I finally get around to reading the last 3 TMI first, or ID first?

        Like

Leave a Reply

