Top 5 Technologies/Magical Items

bronto 10a

by Bronto Incognito

Have you ever read a book and thought, “Wow that’s amazing!  How did the author come up with that?!? I want one of those!!!”?

Well this month’s Top 5 is all about that.  Since not all of us here at T Rex Reads consume the same kinds of literature, we expanded from just doing one or the other to doing both technologies and magical items.

(Also, because if we just did technology, all of mine would come from Scott Westerfeld books.  Like, ALL of them.)

So, without further ado, here is my list!

  1. A wand (from, where else, Harry Potter)

hermione-wand-gifFirst of all, I need one just so that I can make this face right here.

 

Second of all, there are so many awesome elements to HP, I figured cutting right to the wand was the smartest method, because then I can do SO many more things than with just something like a flying broom.

2016-04-13-09.19.14.jpg.jpeg
My Luna wand

Plus, and you know you’ve had this thought before, too, you KNOW I’d be pulling this thing out every time something in the room was just too far away to reach.

Accio is like the best spell ever invented for lazy people.

 

2. Hover boards (Uglies)

Fist off, no.

hoverboard

 

THIS IS NOT A HOVER BOARD.  IT HAS WHEELS!!!!!!!

marty-mcfly-uses-mattel-hoverboard-escape-thugs-2015

 

 

And we’re not even talking the McFly version right here.

No, this wonderful tech comes from the world of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies.  The city has an iron grid shayunder it and the hover boards run on magnetic power.  You get to wear crash bracelets so that if you fall off you get pulled up by magnetic force and don’t die.

Tally and her friends like to sneak out into the old amusement park and use the boards on the old roller coasters, which sounds both amazing and terrifying at the same time.

(And really, all the magno-tech in this series is amazing, but this was one of my favorites.)

3. The “magic” hole in the wall (Uglies)

Okay, so this one was hard.  It’s been a while since I read the series, but I know there were ugliespills you could take to combat all the calories you could eat and then some.  And I think there was even a machine that would exercise your muscles for you so you can rock a 6-pack all year round, no matter how lazy you are.

But! Again in the vein of laziness (and awesomeness) I decided to go with the hole.

See, the hole is great, because in the future everything is made from the same types of materials, so when you’re done with something (from shirts to kitchen utensils) you just drop it in the hole, the system takes it apart, and the elements of it get reused.  Then, anything you want, you just request it out of the magic hole and BAM!  It basically prints it out for you.

Keep in mind that this book was written well before most of the world was familiar with the very real idea of a 3D printer.  Other than the hover boards, this is that stuck out to me the most.

You can even order food out of the hole in your kitchen.  How awesome is this thing?  The possibilities are endless!!!!

4. Cadaverine (Rot &Ruin)

rot and ruin

So cadaverine is a real thing.  By the Wikipedia definition it’s “a foul-smelling diamine compound produced by protein hydrolysis during putrefaction of animal tissue.”

But in Rot & Ruin Jonathan Maberry uses it in a new way.  In the world of a post-zombie-apocalypse, the humans have figured out that one of the best ways to move through the undead hoards beyond their fences is to…and I warn you this is about to get gross…squish the dead zombies down like apples in a press, take the juices, and bottle it up for hunters and the like to use.

Yes, I know, it’s absolutely horrifying.  But at the same time I have read a TON of zombie novels and this is the first time I’ve seen this kind of thing before.  Plus, if I ever end up in one of those situations where I get sucked into a book on my shelf, there’s a decent enough chance that it’ll be a zombie novel and I’m totally jacking this method for survival.

Remember, in the zombie apocalypse, I don’t have to run fast, I just have to run faster than you.

5. Fairy (How to Ditch Your Fairy)

So the premise of this book is that everyone in life gets one fairy.  You don’t get to pick, one just assigns itself to you. Now yes, Charlie hates her parking fairy (people only seem to fairywant to hang out with her to go out shopping and get the perfect, first-row spot). And she trades someone for the seemingly-enviable “all-the-boys-like-you” fairy, and of course it turns out that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

But I think it would be interesting to be in this world, at least for a day, just to see what kind of fairy I would get.  Would it be the test-taking fairy? (Not so great when you’re not in school.) Would it be the eat-whatever-you-want-and-don’t-gain-a-pound fairy? (Success!!!!!!) Or something simple like the loose-change fairy?  Either way, I want to find out!

(Also, Justine Larbalestier is married to Scott Westerfeld.  Which is an interesting factoid that would have been nice to have before meeting Scott Westerfeld and having him sign in a short-story book and him going, “Oh, Justine’s here, too.  She’s over there talking to people.  You want her to sign, too?”)

So that’s my list.  I’m sure as the other girls post theirs I’ll look at something and go, “Oh yeah!!!! I should have put that on my list!!!!!”  So tell me now, what’s on yours?

Also, don’t forget to enter our contest for the month and win yourself 2 free books!!!

 

One thought on “Top 5 Technologies/Magical Items

Leave a Reply

