Better than Okay

In other words, I finally get around to reading The Fault in Our Stars

So…TFIOSTFIOS and John Green.

john green

Yes, that guy.

I first found John Green though hype on the interwebs, though I have never (until now) actually read one of his books.  I’m a Nerdfighter and I follow all the channels and both brothers on all of the things, but I never actually dared to read one of John’s books.

And here’s why:

I have a natural fear/aversion to things that EVERYONE seems to love.  Partly (like with tfiosm.jpgthings like Doctor Who) I know I’ll probably get sucked into the fandom with no hope of escape and I just don’t have room in my obsessive life right now.  With other things–like John Green books–I’m more terrified it’s not going to live up to the hype.  Like, I saw the movie, it was great and me and the hubby both cried (sorry to rat you out there, bro), but what if the book was just terrible?

John Green (kind of) hate Batman.  He thinks Harry and Hermione should have ended up together. I don’t know if I can trust him with telling me a story!

GAH!!!

scared

But!  I’ve been on a really good book-reading binge lately (I’m currently 3 books ahead on my reading challenge) so I randomly grabbed TFIOS off the shelf for a camping trip and started to read.

(Yes, I read on camping trips.  I read everywhere.  Deal with it.)

So…..*drumroll*…..I really did love this book.  I mean, really and truly.  I still stand by my The_Fault_in_Our_Starstweet, I’m not sure you’re legally allowed to use the word “apace” twice in 7 pages.  People don’t use that word.  I’ve watched like 200+ vlogbrothers.  I’ve never once heard John Green use that word.  Not once!  So no, you get to use it 1X during a book.  Not twice.
And not twice in 7 pages.

Just no.

Anywho…the writing was just as great as I was hoping it would be, the dialogue was funny and felt more true-to-life of how I remembered talk to my friends at that age than most of the pseudo-grown-up speak that happens in the YA universe.  I’d already seen the movie, so I knew most of what happened.  But the sign of a great novel is one where even if you already know what the movie characters look like, you can read the book and keep forgetting the movie-versions of these people.

Except for Willem Dafoe as Van Houten.  He’s just so perfect as the drunken, angry, embittered writer.

Though I do wish the scene in the car that happens outside Isaac’s house had been in the movie.  Because that crap was hilarious.

And that’s the thing with this book–it’s funny.  It’s funny in the middle of making you choke up, and thank goodness that “real” Gus isn’t as over-the-top as most YA boys are.  He tries for it, but like Hazel you prefer the real version of him every time.

There’s not a lot I can say about this book that hasn’t already been said except that if, like me, you were holding off because you didn’t think this book might live up to the hype, you should totally give it a try.  Definitely worth my time.

Okay-Okay

Age: Young Adult

Contains: Mild swearing. Metaphorical use of cigarettes.  Alcohol (though it is consumed fairly responsibly and in a country where it’s legal.  I think…). Protected sex. (Not graphically described.) Death and dying and cancer. 😦

 

–review by Bronto Incognito bronto 10a

 

One thought on “Better than Okay

Leave a Reply

