Top 5 Sides

fries

Hello, good mortals!  I’ve come to give you my favorite 5 side characters.  I’ve been thinking about this for about a week now, and I am really horrible with coming up with awesome answers for these things.  I look around my admittedly small bookshelves in my room for ideas, I browse my Goodreads account to remember those that I’m not seeing in front of me.  (Out of sight, out of mind is SO how my brain works….) When I invite you all to share your own answers, it’s literally so I can facepalm and shout “How could I forget _______?!?!??!?”   And that’s also, incidentally also why you keep seeing the same books show up in my top 5 _____.  Because I have a mind like a steel trap.  A rusty steel trap.

And I know you guys are getting tired of me harping about Malec… So I left either/both off the list, but know they are there in spirit to eternally throw my count off.  🙂

 

In descending order because I want to be different.

 

  1. King’s Wife Charm The Hollow Kingdom by Clare Dunkle

hollow kingdomSo, this side character is a magical snake charm the Goblin King gives his new bride and it sinks into her skin looking like a gold painted snake until needed.  It’s purpose is to keep the King’s Wife from harm/death.  If you try to harm the King’s Wife, it will bite you and slither off to find the King and report “I have bitten a man”.  Kings always have stolen wives and the wives are generally unhappy about this so it will also save the King’s Wife if she tries to… oh, I dunno .. drown herself in a bucket of water.  It’s very useful.  And it remembers all the King’s Wives that it’s guarded, but none of the Kings – because the Kings aren’t important.  But their wives are.

 

2. Nico de Angelo Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

nico_di_angelo___lost_prince_by_serena_neko-d7mlmtt
Art courtesy of Serena-Neko at Deviant Art

I love a character that is conflicted as Nico is.  Like, I think he really wants to do good, but can’t quite figure out how to do that and be the son of Hades.  He’s angsty and adorable.  You kind of just want to give him a hug for how freaking hard he tries.

 

 

 

 

 

3.Fred and George Weasley Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (Good ol’ J.K.)

Who could not love these characters?  Great for snark and fun times and enterprising capitalism.  Also, Feels.  So Many Feelings.

fred george

4. Mogget Sabriel by Garth Nix

catSnark.  Mogget is full of snark.  Cat shaped snark. I can’t say much more about him without giving away major plot points, but he’s incredibly useful, even though he doesn’t want to be. So, basically, he’s a cat.  A magical cat that can talk, but yeah.  A cat.

OMG, last one and I’ve made this list twice in my head (and had complete lists!) and still can’t come up with 5 right now, and really I only remembered 3 because I just thought of Mogget as I was staring at my books.

 

5. Sevro Red Rising trilogy by that really hot author Pierce Brown

rising

Sevro is like Nico.  Small.  Scrappy.  Not really sure it he’s a good guy or a bad guy.  Initially, put into the training program as basically a sacrifice, but clever enough to survive.  This kid is like the outlier or the group.  The one that doesn’t quite fit in and no one but the main character would give the time of day let alone trust.

 

 
Now, who do you remember?

 

para 8a

–SuddenButInevitable

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Sides

  1. No! I forgot Myn Donos! I knew there was someone else I wanted on that list beside Sevro! Myn from the Star Wars X-Wing series. Who is a dear and broken and kind of crazy and I love him. And he has the worst luck in finding women.

    Like

Leave a Reply

