June Reading Challenge

Here are our latest updates to our 2016 Reading Challenge!

June’s challenge was to binge-read a series (had to be 2 or more books, obvs).

Check out our results below and tell us if you were able to finish?  What’s the fastest you’ve ever gone through a series?  What series could you just not finish?  Let us know down below, and don’t forget to get cracking on July’s Challenge: Read a book that was based on or turned into a TV show.

Good reading and good luck!

–SuddenButInevitable                               para 8a

Non readers always look at me like a crazed person when I tell them this is my “n”th reread of a series. Like why would you reread a book series? Why wouldn’t you? You watch movies over and over… You play the same games over and over so, if you loved a book why wouldn’t you read it again?

tgirlMy binge reading is the 3 book series The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. (I was going to do the ‘City of’ series by Cassandra Clare, but I know y’all are tired of me harping on that series…) I read this series after seeing the author at the Austin Teen Book Festival and immediately fell in love. It’s a great story and I highly recommend. So, why reread it? Subtle character development is easier to see. You can more easily pick up on foreshadowing. You can sit there and go, “oh! That happening lead to this situation!” Especially as events are spread out in multiple books (not to mention longer series.)
I reread books ALL THE TIME. Sometimes I’m just in the mood for a particular story. Sometimes I like to brush up on my knowledge. Just finished a reread of Harry Potter…. last year (maybe?) and was able to happily loan that whole set to a friend.
Short and sweet, folks. Let me get back to the three books I need to review. Happy trails, readers!

 

–Bronto Incognito                                        bronto 10a

airhead.jpgFor my binge-read I attempted the Airhead series by Meg Cabot.  This one is currently a DNF for me, but I’m still working on it, so we’re not done.

The MC is an average girl who (sort of) dies at the opening of a mega-store and has her brain transplanted into the body of a supermodel.  (Trust me, it mostly makes sense in the book.  Just go with it.)

Now she has to fulfill all of Nikki Taylor’s contracts, navigate her leftover boy toys, and try to convince her old best friend to fall in love with her.

Now why didn’t I finish?  Not anything specific.  But if you’re a reader you know: some things lend themselves to binging and others don’t.  This one just didn’t.  It took me a while to get through the first book.  I liked it, but nothing made me feel desperate to make it to the second.  The second IS going much faster, but our MC is a little selfish and unrealistic in her expectations of things, which doesn’t make her terrible, but does make it take a little longer to read her.

I’ll post a full review of the series as I finish!  I am still interested to see how this one plays out!

 

–Stegosaurus Wilde                                    stego 3a

school-of-good-and-evilLike Bronto Incognito, I didn’t finish my binge read, which was The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. If I was to do it again, I would choose something a little skinnier. I like big, thick, meaty books. But my schedule just won’t allow for a binge read of three of them at the moment.

I got through the first two books, which are amazing! There are so many twists and turns in the plot, and so much information the reader doesn’t know (but is dying to find out), that it kept me turning pages until the very end! Of the second book. Because I didn’t make it to the third. I will now hang my head in book nerd shame.

In The School for Good and Evil, Sophie and Agatha are polar opposites. Beautiful, shallow Sophie wants to go to the School for Good and become a princess, marry a prince, and live happily (and sparkly) ever after. Frumpy, sulky Agatha absolutely does NOT want to go, and she tries to save her only friend (you guessed it—Sophie) from being taken by the Schoolmaster. The rest of the book involves Sophie trying to win her prince and Agatha trying to get them home, and the girls go back and forth between best friends and bitter enemies.

In the second book, A World Without Princes, Sophie and Agatha once again find themselves in the School for Good and Evil, but this time all is not right. The ending of the previous book threw the fairy tale world into chaos, and it is up to the girls to put things right again. But can they? Do they want to?

I can’t say any more without spoiling things for you, and I don’t want to do that because I want you to read them! The books are heartfelt and hilarious, and they constantly keep you guessing! I will finish the trilogy because it’s amazing. I’m only disappointed that I couldn’t get it done in time for this post.

 

So there are our results!  We may not have succeeded on this one, but that’s okay!  It’s fun to have reading challenges as goals, but there’s no point in beating yourself up over things that didn’t work out.  Sometimes the books you pick up just aren’t ready for you to fly through them.  Sometimes they’re giant.  Have you ever picked up a series intending to fly through it and it just didn’t work out?  What series have you buzzed through in a matter of days?  Let us know in the comments down below!!

Also, check out our complete list for the 2016 Reading Challenge and let us know how you’re doing on July’s challenge: read a book based on or inspired by a TV show (or movie.  We threw that in there.  We’re not super picky around here…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

