Top 5 of 2016

–by SuddenButInevitable

para 8a

Lovelies!  It’s been a while.  I read my little heart out, watched movies based on the books I read screwing up in my mind what happened where and then there was depression and then the holidays.  But enough about the past.  Well, that past anyways, because here’s my top 5 books I read in 2016:

5. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

ettiquetteThis was just a fun read. Either I’ve reviewed it, or someone else has on the blog, so follow the link and read all about it. I’m all about perspicacious teen girls being sent off to “finishing” school.  And there’s a werewolf in a top hat and it’s really steampunk at its finest.  So, it’s a fun quick read and I enjoyed the main character and her ability to get herself into and out of scrapes.

 

 

 

 

4. Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon – (Not YA)

lord-johnThis was like the one adult book that I read this year that wasn’t a re-read. This is a spin off of Gabaldon’s Outlander series (Now on Starz Movie Channel!) I’d picked up this book before and couldn’t do it, but I found it again at the library when I was desperate for an audiobook, and nothing else looked decent enough to pick up. Lovelies, I’m so glad I did.  It’s more of a political mystery than I’m used to, and it’s set in England in the 1760s? –  sometime right around the American Revolution, possibly right before as no one is actively on their way to war with those pesky, upstart colonists.  It starts with Lord John finding out that the man that his cousin (his closest relative) is set to marry has syphilis  (*gasp* the black spot!) and how to get her out of that engagement without socially ruining her.  I enjoyed this story because there were so many mysteries to find out, so much history from the other side of the pond and it was enjoyable to listen to and hear all the accents.  I’m such a sucker for accents.  And again, just so we’re clear, not necessarily for young adult readers.  But then again, maybe it is, if history/politics are interests of yours.

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

wrath-and-the-dawnSometimes, you are super surprised about a book. I picked it up because the cover looked lovely, and reminded me of the good old days in my college Art History classes. And then I really, really enjoyed the story. And I loved the prince, caught between a rock and a hard place.  I know I reviewed this one for you guys, you should totally go read.  I love the growth of the prince. Real character development there.  What can I say, I’m a sucker for a tortured hero.  And I love that man.

 

 

 

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the-book-thiefSometimes you come to a book and you realize that if it’s not one one of those book lists for books you must read before you die, it’s not any kind of list at all. It’s about Germans during WWII and the narrator is Death (the Grim Reaper, the horseman… you know, that guy), which is a fantastic narrative device. And tells the story of a young orphan and her foster parents. I watched the movie immediately after because it has Geoffrey Rush in it, and it was again, a mistake.  Because now I can’t separate the two.  But I remember the book was better…..

 

 

 

1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

ocean-at-the-end-of-the-laneThis book comes as no surprise to anyone that knows me. I really love Neil Gaiman as a writer. The Graveyard Book is the most fabulous book ever (totally pick up the English version instead of the American one, the pictures are better but alas, I did not read that in 2016)  I listened to this book on audio, read by Neil Gaiman, and that is totally the way to do this.  He knows the inflections of the sentences, he knows how the characters sound in his head.  So, yes.  Fabulous book of the kind that is Gaiman’s usual.  I enjoyed immensely.  It’s about growing up. And losing the childlike wonder that you have as a kid, where the pond in the backyard of the house at the end of the lane can be an ocean and magic exists and you can find kittens in a field and you think you can do anything especially when you do it with someone older than yourself.  And then maybe, maybe, you bring back a big bad from one of your adventures.  I should totally write an actual review. That would be stellar.

So what were your top reads of 2016?  Let us know in the comments down below!!!

One thought on “Top 5 of 2016

Leave a Reply

