Bronto’s Top 5 of 2016

–by Bronto Incognito

These lists are never easy for me.  Sometimes because too many books stand out or other times because none did.  This year it’s like yeah, a couple really stood out to me, but that’s only 2 of 5 and there are about 10 books that equally could fill out the rest of this list.

So I only cheated a little bit….

5. The Nest by Kenneth Oppel and Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby

the nest                       icefall

I’m listing these two together because they’re both middle grade.  And yeah…that’s about all I have to make them fit together.  Well, except maybe the fact that I really didn’t expect either of these to stick with me the way that they did…

The Nest is a weird, incredible, slightly creepy story that somehow reminded me of the way I felt reading A Wrinkle in Time for the first time.  It’s about a kid who’s baby brother is sick.  And the super nice wasps living in the nest on his roof think they have a…unique way of fixing that problem….

Icefall is about a girl and her siblings who have been sent to a safe-hold by their Viking king father to keep them safe while he’s at war.  And as she’s learning the ancient tradition of storytelling and the power it can have, the entire crew of royals, servants, and Berserkers are under attack from one of their own.  Someone in their midst is trying to sabotage them, and until the ice in the fjord melts no one is going anywhere….

4. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

rot and ruinIf you know me you know I love me some zombie books!  This one was great.  Right mix of fear and danger without excessive amounts of gore.  New ways to look at how a society facing a zombie apocalypse might change to adapt around it.  I especially like the idea of outfitting horses with coats/armor made from old carpets so the zombies can’t bite them.’

Seriously, why hasn’t anyone thought of that before?….

And like I said in my review, I’m not going to tell you what happens at the bottling plant, but they ain’t making soda…

 

 

3. The Ghost and the Goth series by Stacey Kade and Bad Girls Don’t Die series by Katie Alender

ghost goth

 

Now these two I have real reasons to stick together.  For both of them I read the first one before 2016 and then binged the rest of the series in 2016.  Also, they’re both ghost stories and I really couldn’t separate one from the other.  At least not for one being better, especially because they’re different kinds of ghost stories.

Ghost and the Goth is (as you might guess from the covers) a love story.  Imagine Regina George actually died when hit by that bus, but now the only person she can talk to is the wierdo Goth kid in her grade.  Oh, and when she’s around him she has physical touch…so…expect some smooching….

Not so much in Bad Girls Don’t Die.  These books deal with creepy doll obsessions, possession, popularity pacts with demons, and ghostly entities that can kill.  The 3rd book is probably my favorite, but the others are definitely worth a read as well!

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

emberBetween this one and the next one it was really I think I read the next one more recently so it sticks out more…

This book is not for the faint of heart.  It deals with violence and rape and torture on a regular basis.  Now none of that is super graphic, but the issues are definitely in there.

The story is about a girl who is working as a servant in a violent military academy and the boy who is about to graduate.  Neither are what they seem on the surface, but both have to survive in order to reach their goals….

1.Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminaeMy review for this one just posted and like I said there, I don’t want to give too much away because so much happens in this book!!!

Think space adventure.  Love torn apart.  And a Firefly-esque Reever-like disease that’s making people go cray cray.

Oh, and did I mention that the artificial intelligence running the ship has already gone cray cray?  Because he has…

This book was amazing and I can’t wait to see what happens next!!!

 

 

So what were your favs of 2016?  Have you read any of these?  let us know in the comments below!!!!

–Bronto Incognito

bronto 10a

And check out SuddenButInevitable’s Top 5 list as well!!!

the-book-thief

Leave a Reply

