2017 TBR Top 5

–by Bronto Incognito

bronto 10a

So if you’re any kind of book nerd you have either an actual or a virtual TBR or To Be Read list floating somewhere.  It might be a stack by your bed, a bookcase, or an entire Kindle-full of things you’ve been wanting to read.  Or things you’re waiting on getting released later this year.  For me, my goal is to clear some of my existing TBR shelves so I can make room.  I’ve got a kid popping out of me sometime in April which means Neal Shusterman will have to make some room for Dr. Seuss.  Plus all the non-board books are going to have to move up two shelf spaces to keep out of the reach of tiny hands that all-too-soon will be crawling and grabbing and tearing.  So, here’s my top list of books I want off my TBR bookcases and onto the READ bookcase…

5. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

kiss-of-deception

So I have not even started this series yet.  If you’ll remember when the 3rd book came out last year the cover art looked so amazing that I added it to our August releases even though none of us had read any of these yet.  Because it looked amazing.  So I picked this up at the Texas Teen Book Festival last year and based on some of the obsessive fans I saw waiting in Miss Pearson’s line, I have high hopes for this.

This is the only start of a new series on my list.  I figure I’m going to be reading a lot of color/number/baby animal books this year, so I have no idea what realistic goals are going to look like for me…

 

4. Gone series by Michael Grant

So I started this series a while ago, but only made it through the first one.  I loved it, but it felt like a series I wanted to binge-read because there was just so much going on here!  So I have like…3 of the other 5 books sitting on my shelf, just waiting to get picked up.  So this year I figure it’s time to dig in and finish them off!  Even though that means adding 2 new books to my shelves…

3.  Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplin

Ah Dumplin’.  How you remind me of my failures in life…

Why?  Oh, only because I know the author…and her husband…and went to the release party…and got all kinds of nifty swag and posted about it on Instagram and was super pumped to read it.  And then uh…added it to the shelf where it’s gotten moved around but has not come off.

It’s not the only one.  There are other books up there with some similiar (though not quite as bad) stories to them, but this one is different.  This one seems to mock me because I haven’t experienced the awesomeness that is Dumplin’ and the Dolly Parton drag queens that lie within.  So I’m gonna do it.  I’m gonna get you read and post about it this year.  So stop judging me!!!!

2. The Enemy series 4-7 by Charlie Higson

OMG, it’s me an my zombie obsession again.  And this series in fantastic.  Set in London where everyone over the age of 16 has turned zombie.  And now those under 16 have to try to survive.  Do you live on just survival?  To you try to rebuild?  Do you spend your time running from escaped zoo monkeys that have been only partially infected with this virus?
Tough choices all.

Each book has its own set of characters, but as the series goes on their stories start to weave together. *Though I will say this: do not get too attached to anyone.  Because they’ll probably die.  Think Forest of Hands and Teeth.  People die fast and hard and ain’t nobody got time for love around here…

The real problem here is that Tritops and Trilogies used to be my supplier for this series (my dog even ate one of her books and I had to buy her a new one), and then she moved.  So I have book 5 from Half Price, but I’ve yet to find book 4.  It might just be time to act like an adult and check it out from the library and…you know…actually return it before I owe $50 in late fees….

1.  Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman

And here’s the top of my list.  Unwind…the story about how the 2nd civil war was fought over reproductive rights and settled by saying you can’t touch a pregnancy, but you can have a kid btw the ages of 12 and 18 unwound–cut up and grafted into other people needing transplants.

See, you can’t be dead if you never die.  You’re just existing in a “divided state”.  Right?

The problem is I read the first one when it was a stand alone.  And then more kept coming and I kept waiting so I could binge.  And then I loaned out the first one.  And….haven’t gotten it back yet.  And while I feel pretty confident that I remember most of the story (this is the kind that sticks with you) I still want to reread it before I tear through the other ones.

What I really need to do is get better at asking for my books back…maybe I’ll man-up and actually try that this week….

Honorable Mention

So I was going to be really good and not cheat, but then TheDinoWhisperer and I went to YAK Fest this weekend and learned about this amazing sounding book that’s coming out in FREAKING OCTOBER so yeah…a long ways to wait on this one.  And I might not get it read this year.  But I’m excited about it and that counts for something…

berserker.jpg

Berserker by Emmy Laybourne

So I cannot describe this better than the author did in her tweet description for the event…

And if that doesn’t interest you, and that COVER doesn’t interest you, I don’t know what will…

–Bronto Incognito

 

So what are you looking forward to reading this year?  Let us know in the comments below!  Also, don’t forget to check out our Top 5 favs from last year!

bronto 10a                             para 8a                                 stego 3

One thought on “2017 TBR Top 5

Leave a Reply

