Children’s Lit

–by Bronto Incognito

So for those of you don’t know, my husband and I are expecting our first child on April 11.  We couldn’t be more excited, but it’s made me think a lot on what I can do to still contribute to this blog.  For example, what do I even put down as my goals for the year on Goodreads???  Having a baby will naturally eliminate most of my reading free time, but surely I’ll be able to read a tiny bit…right?  At least I’ll be able to read to my daughter, even if she doesn’t understand the words or recognize the pictures.  Even then I have no idea how many kids’ books I’ll be able to get through in a year, not to mention most of them will probably be reread about a hundred times.

So here’s the plan…I’ll read what I can, from my standard YA and Middle Grade categories, but I’m also going to review some children’s books from the perspective of a first-time mom.

People that know I read YA/MG always want to ask me for good recommendations for their younger kids, but I generally don’t have any.  Hopefully this will help change that over the next few years.  I’m hoping to experience a whole new world of literature that I haven’t been exposed to in a while, plus give me a chance to reexamine some of the standards of my childhood–because adulthood can give you a totally different view on what was once a beloved story… *cough cough…The Giving Tree…cough cough*

So, with all that preamble out of the way, I present…

Fiona’s Luck

by Teresa Bateman, illustrated by Kelly Murphy

fionas-luckAge: Children’s
Type: Picture Book

Sometimes cleverness, though, is worth more than strength.

Book-a-likes: Stone Soup by Marcia Brown, Fiona also reminds a bit of Hermione or any number of characters from Gypsy folktales.

 
Fiona’s Luck tells the story of how all the leprechauns in Ireland used to produce all this luck, but when the big people (AKA humans) showed up all the luck kept clinging to them instead of just floating around in the air.  So the leprechaun king decided to gather it all up and keep it for his people alone.

Only he screwed up and gathered too much, thus causing the great potato famine.  Fiona knows something must be done, but also knows trying to force a leprechaun to give up luck is not likely to be accomplished by force.  Instead she decides to use her cunning and wits to get the luck back for her friends and neighbors.

I had not read this story before I picked it up at a book sale, but I did read the last line of the book (after flipping through the pictures) and both the artwork and that last line convinced me that this might be a book I’d be okay with reading to my daughter.  I wasn’t disappointed.

Like I said above, Fiona reminds me a bit of Hermione in that she’s very smart and uses her brain to solve her problems.  Though unlike Hermione I’d have to drop Fiona solidly into the Ravenclaw camp, because she seems to have a solid understanding of how important her brains are to accomplishing her goals.

hermione books cleverness.gif

So 5 out of 5 on this one for me.  I know it’ll be a while before my daughter sits willingly through the entire length of a picture book, but this one feels like a solid addition to the collection!

–Bronto Incognito

bronto 10a

Do you have some suggestions on books I should pick up to expand the children’s section of my library?  Let me know in the comments down below!!  Also, don’t forget to check out some of our other recent reads…

still-life                                         glorious

 

Leave a Reply

